Spirit Dolls

eye doll skeleton

It’s time for me to add some fiber to the mix.

I recently finished a spirit doll, a project of about two years.

Dolls are another of my obsessions.

My chain-stitched muslin dolls began, as usual, by accident.  We were moving; my daughter was packing and also getting rid of (a few) things.  At one of her birthday parties, the activity was decorating muslin dolls.  A minimalist, she put eyes and a big smile with markers, and attached a few pieces of yarn on top for hair.  She didn’t want to keep it.

mermaid

But I thought, as I often do, “I could make something out of that.”  I had once seen a muslin doll that was partially decorated with embroidery in a magazine and filed in in my mind under “good ideas”.  here was my chance.

My daughter loved mermaids as a child.  So I began, secretly, to turn her creation into a mermaid.  It was complete just in time for her middle school graduation.

nina spirit doll

Since then I’ve also done a spiderwoman, a tiny skeleton, a spirit doll for Nina, a tree spirit, and my just-completed eye spirit doll.  I have plenty of ideas for more.  Check back in several years…

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

Leave a Reply

