Water Lilies

monet grid 1

I’m a bit obsessed with Monet’s water lilies.  I spent many pages gluing paper to try to get an interpretation in collage that captured the colors and feeling of some of the paintings.  I finally hit on the grid, which became the basis of my first Sketchbook Project “Art I Like”.

water lilies #5s

My latest Sketchbook Project circles back to Monet.  It’s a poetry-themed one, and I thought to do haiku, and of course, to illustrate it.  I have been reading a lot of traditional Japanese haiku, and one thing a master would sometimes do is to throw out a first line (like “moon on the water” for instance), then do variations with his students.  I enjoying seeing the subtle changes they made.

water lilies #11s

Traditional haiku uses nature as its focus.  So:  “Water Lilies”:  haiku variations with grid-based collages inspired by Monet.  This will eventually be digitized in total on the website (https://www.sketchbookproject.com/), but it isn’t there yet.  In the meantime, just search Kerfe on the site and you can see my other completed projects.

water lilies s

Nina and I saw a wonderful show of many Monet water lily paintings a few years ago.  Nothing replaces the actual experience of standing in front of the work itself.  If you ever get a chance to see one:  go, go, go.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

7 responses to “Water Lilies”

  1. memadtwo says :

    Beautiful post. I love how you take things and run with them. The spindly color rows are very cool.

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    Well you’re right about not knowing where this comes from! I have no idea. Nothing ever ends up going where I think it will. But sometimes it works out.

    Like

  3. JPei says :

    I like how you arranged the colorful cutouts and wrote a haiku to accompany them!

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. More Water Lilies | method two madness - October 10, 2014
  2. Reverie | method two madness - February 26, 2016
  3. Water Lilies Revisited | method two madness - March 19, 2017

Leave a Reply

