Saturnalia

saturnalia Saturnalia is a mask made from a knit swatch that has been manipulated and stitched with embroidery floss.saturnalia detail For over 20 years I made knit sample swatches for a series of reps to sell to manufacturers in the fashion industry.  Of course, not every swatch would sell, so the reps would return them, and I’ve used them to make many things.  This is my first swatch mask; I sculpted and stitched it directly onto the canvas.  As with many of my textile projects, it’s a long process, and the second one I expect will also take many months.  One of the advantages of working slowly is that things evolve, often in unexpected forms.  I like that.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

8 responses to “Saturnalia”

  1. memadtwo says :

    Again, I am very proud of you. This is really interesting work and you deserve to be in the show. Maybe we should take a ride to Erie.

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    It’s very far away. Pennsylvania is a big state. The train ride I think was 8 or 9 hours.

    Like

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    This is really interesting. And stitched with embroidery floss?! You have amazing patience. Was this inspired by a museum mask?

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Unfinished Project #3 (and more masks) | method two madness - July 17, 2015

Leave a Reply

