More Water Lilies

 

#15 sm

Yesterday I went to the Museum of Modern Art to see the Matisse Cut-Out show–no photos allowed, but it was so crowded it would have been nearly impossible anyway–and then I wandered into the Monet room afterwards.  The room in the old Modern was better, I remember an airiness about it, and I think it was larger.  But the water lilies…as always, amazing.

autumn water lilies sm

The autumn one reminded me of one of the Monet/haiku pages from my Sketchbook Project.  I also came home and did a rather busy collage, inspired by the feeling of Monet’s painting.  “Interesting”, but not sure what I think about it.

busy Monet sm

The full wall blue water lilies is so large I couldn’t fit it all into one photo…

water lilies wall sm

I took lots of photos in the museum, and I own books with reproductions of lots of the Matisse cut-outs in the exhibit, so I’ll be revisiting what I saw yesterday in the coming weeks.

#13 sm

You can find my original Water Liles post here:  https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/water-lilies/

And the entire book is finally digitized on the Sketchbook Project website:  https://www.sketchbookproject.com/library/15731

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

4 responses to “More Water Lilies”

  1. memadtwo says :

    I loved that old water lily room. The new MOMA doesn’t really do it for me any more. Your work is lovely, though.

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    Yes it’s too enclosed. And I’m unhappy they took down the Folk Art Museum too. It’s too bad because they have a great collection and some good shows (though to be frank a lot of trendy garbage too). Wonder what the new Whitney downtown will be like?

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Water Lilies | method two madness - January 16, 2016
  2. Water Lilies Revisited | method two madness - March 19, 2017

Leave a Reply

