“Dancing is the Poetry of the Foot”

holder dance s

speaking large gestures:
to tell, to move.  to answer
with liquid magic.

I was going to post about the Matisse cut-outs and dance, but I couldn’t talk about dance without acknowledging the death of Geoffrey Holder last week:  dancer, choreographer, actor, painter, and all around extra large liver of life.

two dancers matisse s

Matisse returned to the theme of dance again and again, and many of his collages reflect this.  The above, “Two Dancers”, is a design for a ballet stage curtain.  As I’ve said before , Matisse was the original inspiration for me to attempt collage, and I found an old one done in 1982 that really shows his influence.  It was in a sketchbook with collage-illustrated poems–the poetry is long and tedious and so cryptic that even I, the writer, have no idea what it’s saying (there’s a reason I stick to haiku these days)–but the collages are interesting.

geometric dancer 1982 s

A few of the poetic phrases do seem appropriate:

tuning my fingers
playing my arms
humming my
mind through distances

(OK, I must have been listening to Roberta Flack…)

300px-La_danse_(I)_by_Matisse s

Matisse also, famously, painted dancers.  I have an easier time doing collage inspired by a painting than by another collage, but I do want to explore Matisse and collage and dance.  I’ve been cutting out photos of dancers from the newspaper for awhile, although without any real idea where I would go with them.  The juxtaposition of the bodies appeals to me, in both the photos and Matisse.

dancin s

I did do this small collage I call “Dancin” which is one idea.  I also like the quick motion sketches Geoffrey Holder inspired.  We’ll see where it leads.

The quote in the title is from poet John Dryden.

And for a more modern but equally valid point of view:
“The one thing that can solve most of our problems is dancing.” –James Brown.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

5 responses to ““Dancing is the Poetry of the Foot””

  1. memadtwo says :

    A very poetic post through and through! Love the little collage at the end with Mr. Holder’s face in it. Very inspired.

    Like

  2. Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. says :

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Those of you who pop by regularly already know that I love music of all styles and I love nothing more than dancing the night away in any form of rock frenzy – tickets are available for the next performance! I loved this post by method two madness. ” Dancing is the Poetry of the Foot” what a wonderful way to describe it.. images and words to enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

