Halloween Countdown: Mask

kami mask s

play seriously impersonate
yourself with dignity
allegory lyric pageantry
and spare precision

be human be
animate be
kind
be

I previously posted a dancer from my 1982 Masks-and-Poetry journal.  The illustrations are more interesting to me now than the words, but some of the phrases are salvageable, and this one, severely cut and mashed up a bit, seems appropriate to the season and the mask.

 

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

2 responses to “Halloween Countdown: Mask”

  1. memadtwo says :

    Strangely enough, that mask looks like how I feel today. Is that a tissue paper collage? I like the transparency–and the message.

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    yes, rice paper, pantone paper, tissue paper. I have all those papers I used in a portfolio in the storage room, along with (I think) many collages and the girls’ elementary school artwork. All the yarn and old swatches are in front of them though, so I’d have to move everything out to find them. Too daunting at the moment.

    I feel that way often myself…

    Like

Leave a Reply

