There’s a Crow Flying…

crow #1s

“…he’s black as the highway that’s leading me…” (Joni Mitchell, that song has been in my head for a week)

This is kind of a variation on my series “What is It Good For?”  In #7 (https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2014/09/27/what-is-it-good-for-7-continued-variations/)    I did a monoprint on rice paper from the (very wet) watercolor I was working on and then stitched over part of it.  This time I put the paint on a piece of plastic and pressed the paper on that.  Actually I did 7 different ones, sometimes more than once, adding paint as I went along.  Some were more successful than others, but I like to take things that are not quite what I want and add things to them to see what happens.  So I’m going to maybe collage or stitch a lot on some of them.  I also got a feel for what I want to do next time, including getting glass or plexiglass that is thick and rigid, not thin and flexible like the piece of plastic I used.  I worked on the floor, also not ideal as I had to get from sitting to standing a number of times, and I also kept stepping in paint.  But I don’t really have another place to do this at the moment (although I have a wonderful studio in my mind).

crow #2s

I always intended to put crows in these skyscapes, but I wasn’t sure how I would do it.  I settled on collage silhouettes for the first two.  I like them, but want to add stitching for more texture to the next one I do.

13 blackbirds s

The river is moving.
The blackbird must be flying.

One of the first collages I did after not doing anything for many years, “Thirteen Blackbirds”, was inspired by the Wallace Stevens poem “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird.”  This poem was my introduction to Illustrated Poetry, too.  (http://illustratedpoetry.com/2014/09/11/xiii-of-thirteen-blackbirds-stevens/).

More to come.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

2 responses to “There’s a Crow Flying…”

  1. memadtwo says :

    These are wonderful. Very different direction and I like it.

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. There’s a Crow Flying…(third variation) | method two madness - December 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

