Joe Cocker 1944-2014

 

joe cocker s

I’m writing a short
letter:  so beautiful; you
made me feel alright.

quill pens

I haven’t been happy with the ink pen I found packed away from 35 years ago.  While looking online for alternatives, I saw some feather pens.  Some of them had metal nibs attached, but a few were actually quill pens.  Interesting idea.  I ordered two from Charles at Onlyrealquills on Etsy.  They are beautiful to look at.  The drawings above are done with the writing pen; I haven’t tried the calligraphy one yet.  Charles sent me some tips for their use, but of course doing is always the best teacher.  For first attempts, I’m pretty happy.  They require a delicate touch, which I like, and I like how differing amounts of ink (depending on how deep you dip the quill) can result in a denser and blacker effect or can be quite light and delicate.

And Joe Cocker:  Rest in Peace, the music will live on.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Onlyrealquills

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

4 responses to “Joe Cocker 1944-2014”

  1. memadtwo says :

    Both are great. The one on the right really looks like him and catches his spirit while singing. Nice job.

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    It’s interesting to me that “old” Joe Cocker seems more real to me too. I’m reading a biography of Leonard Cohen and I don’t recognize him in his younger photos, although I was a fan then. But to me, he is who he is today (and looks better, too). Not so with, say, the Beatles. They are forever young. When I see how Paul looks today, I am always surprised.

    Like

  3. hitandrun1964 says :

    He will live on. Lovely post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

