Stitched Mask

stitched mask close up s

The elements for this mask have been sitting in my pile of ideas for many months.  Along with the sidetracks of other ideas that always ramble out from the original thought.

Here again I took my leftover paint, but instead of trying to paint something recognizable, I just made an abstract design.  Stitching over it was the first thing that came to mind.

stitched mask s

When I did the Matisse snowflake design (https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/matisse-again-color-and-form/), some of them looked like masks to me.  So that gave me the idea to actually try to do a mask with larger paper.  I used construction paper here.

stitched mask 2s

And when I put it on the pile of ideas, it was on top of the painting.  Hmmm….

But still it sat on that very large pile until I saw Amy Crawford’s series “Branded”.  Thanks for the push, Amy!

https://amycrawfordart.wordpress.com/branded-development-series/

stitched mask back s

And the back is kind of interesting too.  I can think of a few more things to do with this as well.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

4 responses to “Stitched Mask”

  1. Amy Crawford Art says :

    This is awesome work!

    Like

  2. JoAnn Chateau says :

    The stitching is genius. The ‘accidental’ combination with the watercolor – inspired. Thank’s for sharing your creative process with us.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks for the compliments! A lot of what I do seems to be accidental…I guess it’s not really as I’m always thinking about and looking at things and sometimes they just intersect. But I can’t plan things out ahead of time in detail, because chance always interferes…in life as well as art.

      Like

Leave a Reply

