Abstract Collage 2

jm-3s

These collages were inspired by Joan Mitchell.

jm-4s

Not the Monet-inspired Joan Mitchell that I normally think of, but by her very early work, done in the first years after getting her MFA at the Art Institute of Chicago in 1950.

jm-1s

Her painting at that time seemed to be influenced more by Duchamp’s “Nude Descending a Staircase” and the colors of the cubists:  dark, brooding, earthy.

joan mitchell 1951 s

The connection to physical resemblance unraveled as Mitchell embraced abstraction.

joan mitchell 1954 s

A lot of these paintings resemble the work of de Kooning and the other abstract expressionists of the New York School.  But she found her own way, eventually moving to France.

joan mitchell pen ink s

She was a great admirer of Van Gogh and also Matisse, which I can easily see in her later beautiful use of color, and those paintings also remind me a lot of Monet’s water lilies.  I featured Joan Mitchell in my sketchbook project “Art I Like” and hope to do more abstractions based on her later work.

mitchell sbp s

http://joanmitchellfoundation.org/work

https://www.sketchbookproject.com/library/4615

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

14 responses to “Abstract Collage 2”

  1. kirkistan says :

    I like those colors.

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    It’s a wonderful post. I love her work–and yours too.

    Like

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Is the last image yours or hers? That one stands out way for me. Really something!!! Colors and shapes amazing on both pages.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Mine, I spent a year doing that little sketchbook based on an A-Z of artists I liked.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        It’s really amazing. Seriously. 💛 I don’t know which I like better, the gridded side or the drawn side. I’m amazed you never became a quilter. Well, or not yet. 😉 They don’t have to be gargantuan heirloom pieces. They can be no bigger than this sketchbook was. People do all kinds of things by adding fusible web to the backs of really small pieces.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        I have a good friend who is a quilter, and she keeps “suggesting” I get to work. And the sketchbook was really associated in my mind with quilters and quilting. I just feel I have so many irons in the fire already…as it is, I’m always jumping around. Remember all those unfinished projects I was going to finish this year?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        I’m a jumper too, so I understand totally. I’m going to try and change that for ’16, but not sure it’ll fly. It starts by making a conscious effort though so we’ll see!

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Good resolution! I haven’t made one yet, but focusing is always a need with me…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        Even after over a year of total art immersion, I find myself wanting to try different mediums and different subjects. I have fine tuned a bit but I hop around so much that I feel I don’t really make progress. I may focus on a subject a month or something like that next year. Different mediums, ok if I want to switch around but at least stay with a subject I really love until the month is out. Something like that. Who knows what will actually happen lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Yes it all sounds good until reality rears it’s usual issues. Still, I know I learned a lot doing the grids, even if I haven’t managed to get that discipline together since, so I know it’s a good idea.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        Damn that reality always sticking its pointy beak in!

        Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. More Joan Mitchell | method two madness - August 19, 2015
  2. From Joni to Joan | method two madness - December 9, 2015

Leave a Reply

