Tyger Tyger

rice paper tiger s

…burning bright,
In the forests of the night;

print tiger 1s
What immortal hand or eye,
Could frame thy fearful symmetry?

rice paper tiger head s

In what distant deeps or skies.
Burnt the fire of thine eyes?
print tiger 2s
On what wings dare he aspire?
What the hand, dare seize the fire?

blake tyger s

I was wandering through Barnes and Noble when William Blake’s “Songs of Innocence and of Experience” caught my eye.  As I flipped through, I came to “The Tyger”.  I love the way Blake’s illustration (above) incorporates the poem as an integral part of the picture.
I am still working on big cats, and this poem, a staple of my childhood, seemed appropriate for the tigers.  All except the last are painted on rice paper, which I enjoy because you can’t control the results as obsessively as I normally try to do.  The second one was first monoprinted from the body colors I put down for the 4th one (leaving those colors faded); then I painted on top of it.  Then I painted over #4.
You can read the entire poem here:  http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/172943

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

6 responses to “Tyger Tyger”

  1. kirkistan says :

    Fun images. Have you ever listened to folk singer Greg Brown? He set a number of William Blake poems to music and the are great. He called the album (yes, I owned a vinyl record, or was it a CD?) “Songs of Innocence and Experience.” You can listen to it on Spotify for free.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

