Girl Talk: Lesley Gore 1946-2015

lesley comp

Where is the other
me?  Where is the free I?  Oh,
life!  never telling.

OK, more than a bit cryptic, the haiku generator (http://www.languageisavirus.com/interactive-haiku-generator.html?ac=Generate#.VJ9waJ0HCA) was feeling a bit koan-like today (with a bit of help from me too).

Lesley Gore was part of the soundtrack of my early teenage years.  I owned the album, “Girl Talk”, with the cover photo I used as a reference for the drawing on the left.  The phone!  The eye make up!  The hair!  I was always trying for a flip like Lesley’s, sleeping in hair rollers, carefully combing the curls to reverse direction in the morning…but I never could achieve her flip perfection.  Maybe I didn’t use enough hairspray.

You don’t own me, don’t try to change me in any way
You don’t own me, don’t tie me down ’cause I’d never stay
Oh, I don’t tell you what to say
I don’t tell you what to do
So just let me be myself
That’s all I ask of you

In 2012 Lesley Gore and her anthem from 1964,”You Don’t Own Me”, were used in a moving video to try to get out the vote for women’s issues. (https://vimeo.com/51920265).  Still saying:  you don’t have to let others limit you.  You can take control of yourself and your life.

Thanks, Lesley, for the reminder.   And for the vote of confidence.  It’s OUR party.  Let’s tell them what we think.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

4 responses to “Girl Talk: Lesley Gore 1946-2015”

  1. memadtwo says :

    Not enough hairspray, that was probably it. Nice post. Poor Leslie, I guess she must have been a smoker. Lung cancer’s a bitch.

    Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    I really like the image on the left.

    Like

Leave a Reply

