Beach I Ching 10

             #37 Chia Jen     The Family/Community

#37 Chia Jen
The Family/Community

Also:  The Clan/Dwelling People/Identity/Foundation/The Psyche

“A solid life must have a strong foundation composed of truth and balance–balance between forceful action and gentle intuition.”
(Thom Williams)

“To fully understand your position, you must first understand yourself, and the whole of which your role is but a part.”  (pathfinder.3rdmilieux.com)

“Be inspired to be aware that the family you create or are part of has an effect on the larger culture.  Knowing how to behave in the smaller environment is important to knowing how to act within a larger context.”  (ichingmeditations.com)

“When the receptive qualities maintain their receptivity and nourish what is received, and when the active and expressive continues to create, there will be harmony.”  (dreamhawk.com)

beach i ching 10 comp

I had trouble with the traditional patriarchal rendering of the family in all the classic translations of Chia Jen.  Modern commentary seems to echo my uneasiness, and they tend to speak not of husbands and wives, or rulers and subjects, but of the contributions of all needed to make families and communities whole.

I did this random I Ching arrangement with my shells 3 times:  balance, balance, balance.  Every line is in its proper place.  Always elusive, but something to strive for.

You can see the rest of the Beach I Ching posts here:  https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/category/beach-i-ching/

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

17 responses to “Beach I Ching 10”

  1. createarteveryday says :

    Is that your collage on the left, or a cool photo from an awesome art book? Wow! This may be my favorite piece of art I’ve seen on the blogs all week! I truly hope it’s yours. How beautiful is this?! If this is collage, I need to do it. Blew me away this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Yes it’s my collage. I really think it’s my best medium, though no one else seems to agree. I spend hours cutting things out of catalogs and magazines, and I have all these plastic bins full of the things I’ve cut out, ready to be pasted. Thanks for the vote of confidence!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. createarteveryday says :

    Have you ever thought about turning your collages into prints and selling them?

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      A few people told me they thought the I ching shells would sell, so I had some prints made, but not much interest. I have some original collages in my etsy shop, but not much interest in them either. There’s just too much available out there, and I think you need to be much more interested in marketing strategies than I am.

      Like

      • createarteveryday says :

        Hmm. That’s a shame. I know what you mean though. There’s so much out there, true. I’d love to see what would happen with a print of this collage, but I guess it costs to have them produced, as well. Everything in the art world is so expensive for little payoff, it seems, other than personal reward (which is wonderful, but it don’t feed the bulldog lol).

        Like

  3. Scribble Fiend says :

    I love the collage! Lots of little worlds. I’m such a map geek & astronomy geek, so this is right up my alley!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    You really are the best collage artist ever.

    Like

  5. createarteveryday says :

    Can you recommend any great books or DVDs on collage? I’m getting ready to pick up a whole bunch at the library, but I chose them at random. Wondering if you’d have any specific recommendations?

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      I would just look at a lot of art…the surrealists used a lot of collage; actually a lot of contemporary artists incorporate collage into some of their art. I like Matisse, Kurt Schwitters, Romare Bearden, Hanna Hoch, Anne Ryan, Miriam Schapiro, Joseph Cornell, Nancy Spero, Louise Nevelson, to name a few. I’ve never really used any instruction books, just cut and paste whatever strikes your fancy. My original inspiration was Matisse and his cut outs, but obviously my work doesn’t look anything like his. All you need is paper and glue…or fabric or even 3D objects. You can cut, or tear, or combine the two. Actually, quilts are a good inspiration too. OK everything is an inspiration to me. I often do collages inspired by paintings I like.

      Liked by 1 person

      • createarteveryday says :

        Not sure if you’d be interested in this, and it sounds like you really don’t need it at all, but there are so many cool ideas, I thought I’d share, in case you’d enjoy it. My library had it, and yours probably does too. http://www.amazon.com/New-Creative-Collage-Techniques-Original/dp/1440309213/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1426104776&sr=1-1&keywords=new+creative+collage+techniques

        Hoping to try some cool techniques I saw on another blog with Citra Solv and National Geographic magazines. My neighbor works there, and she said she can get me a whole bunch that’d otherwise be pitched. So I’m very excited. 🙂 Who knows, maybe this weekend? Citra Solv or no, your post has me very excited about collage. I think that’s the best thing about art for me: I never know what’s gonna knock my socks off around the next corner. So much inspiration on WP too. This keg’s gonna blow, baby! 😀 hehe (yes, the sleep deprivation is kicking in…)

        Like

      • memadtwo says :

        Thanks for the suggestion. I already have so many inspirational books, not to mention references I’ve cut out of various sources, that I could probably never begin to explore all my ideas. Interesting that the author went to Otterbein…my sister-in-law went there for awhile although she graduated from Kent State.
        I love National Geographic as an image source…that’s a good find. And I’m looking forward to seeing the results of your investigations!

        Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Fiber Art Start! | Create art everyday - March 8, 2015

Leave a Reply

