More Stitched Maps

3 main streets

When I did my sketchbook project “Main Street”, I drew many more maps than actually fit in the sketchbook.  So I’ve been mounting and stitching the ones I didn’t use in the book.  Above are the first three I’ve finished.

klamath falls close up s

How did I decide which cities to use?  It was really random.  I would go to google maps and type in “Main Street” and then the name of a state, and a few suggestions for cities would pop up.  Then I would randomly choose from that list, and fool around with the map until I had a layout that I liked.

main street mt desert maine 2s

This will be a project with no end, which is fine.  I love maps and I love embroidery.

sandy hook back s

You can see my other stitched maps here:  https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/category/maps/

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

6 responses to “More Stitched Maps”

  1. kirkistan says :

    These are stunning. Really, really cool.

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    They are fantastic. I’d like to have a whole wall of them, framed in nice clean black frames. Excellent imagination.

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    A wall of them would be cool…give me a few years!

    Like

  4. Nicola says :

    I love things like this. They’re wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

