Three day quote challenge: day 2

“Never scrutinize the oral orifice of a gratuitous equine”. 

A quote my husband is fond of using. I don’t know to whom to attribute this. 

If you didn’t get it, it’s a glorified version of “don’t look a gift horse in the mouth”. Funny? I think so. And drawing a horse brought me back to my girlhood; I drew a lot of horses. 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

9 responses to “Three day quote challenge: day 2”

  1. kirkistan says :

    I got it. Right way. Your husband has a gift for obfuscation.

    Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    I’d love to see that with more shading and dimensionality. I find horse hard to draw..

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    You just pegged my dear husband. He has a lot of bon mots like that and yes, I should have shaded the horse more but I am a lazy so-and-so…

    Like

  4. memadtwo says :

    Same here with the horses. I keep meaning to look for some of those drawings. I do remember horses are difficult…
    And great quote!

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    Boy, do I wish I had some of those childhood drawings. My father used to bring home paper from the Colt Press in Paterson and I would just draw and draw. Why can’t I do that now, I wonder?

    Like

  6. createarteveryday says :

    I drew so many horses as a kid, and now I still want to draw them the exact way vs actually looking at the horse! Soooo many unicorn and rainbow drawings lol. πŸ’œ

    Like

  7. cdog says :

    Love the quote (had never heard it said like that before!) and love the artwork! Both brought a smile to my face this morning; thank you! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Hadrian Hatfield says :

    Quote is from a book of them I remember seeing as a child in my vet’s office (Dr. Hart in Conway, Arkansas). “Never enumerate your poultry prior to completion of the process of incubation” was another. Don’t know the author, but would love to find a copy now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

