Father’s Day Bird

roadrunner drawing s

I missed Draw-a-Bird Day this month, so I figured I’d make the half-way point at Father’s Day with this roadrunner drawing for my dad.

My parents moved to Arizona after they retired, partly because they could no longer take the Cleveland winters.  My father was neither a birder nor particularly an art lover, but he enjoyed the wildlife of Arizona, and purchased a roadrunner painting that caught his eye.  The Arizona artist, Gary Kolter, is “known for trompe still life” and has a few of those paintings on auction sites, but I couldn’t find any other information about him online.

roadrunner painting s

When my father died, I kept the painting, and every time I look at it I think of him.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad, and all fathers everywhere.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

10 responses to “Father’s Day Bird”

  1. createarteveryday says :

    Such a warm tribute to your dad here. And I thought you weren’t so good at birds?!? Whaaaaaa? This is beautiful! And not an easy angle either! Well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kirkistan says :

    That is excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    One of your best birds, I think. Your Dad would be proud.

    Like

Leave a Reply

