Miriam Schapiro 1923-2015

schapiro s

Miriam Schapiro’s influence hovers over my work, even when I’m not consciously making the connection.  Above is the page from the “Art I Like” sketchbook I did which is based on a Schapiro fan.

Schapiro's "Freya Miriam"

Schapiro’s “Freya Miriam”

To see my posts including Schapiro’s work and influence:  https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/?s=miriam+Schapiro

and the collaboration I did with Marcy Erb:   https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/ekphrastic-tuesday-im-dancing-as-fast-as-i-can-schapiro/

Schapiro's "The Garden"

Schapiro’s “The Garden”

and to read more about her remarkable life:  http://hyperallergic.com/216461/remembering-miriam-schapiro-1923-2015/

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

7 responses to “Miriam Schapiro 1923-2015”

  1. createarteveryday says :

    Beautiful work. 💜

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    Oh boy, you have really outdone yourself today. Really great post, Kerfe.

    Like

  3. Marcy Erb says :

    I clicked over here today and my heart sank to see this – it is a loss to the art world. I always feel conflicted “liking” posts announcing a death or a loss – but it is a “like” for the remembrance and for the life lived and the legacy we inherit. Thank you for sharing this with us!

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. (More) Miriam Schapiro | method two madness - June 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

