Patterns (Unfinished Project #2 )

 

patterns 5s

Up a narrow flight of stairs
In a narrow little room

Perhaps you remember “Unfinished Project #2”?  Let me recap:  another Sketchbook Project, first due in January, but with deadline extended to March.  Yes it’s almost July.

basquiat music s

“Patterns” combines three inspirations:  Jean-Michel Basquiat, for the idea of using sheet music in a collage

patterns 10s

There are patterns I must follow
Just as I must breathe each breath

Paul Simon, for the sheet music and lyrics of his song “Patterns” (http://lyrics.wikia.com/Simon_And_Garfunkel:Patterns)

jenkins 3s

and Paul Jenkins, for the beautiful layered colors of his paintings and prints.  I had been wanting to stitch those layers of colors.

jenkins 2s

So it took me a year to complete, although there were large gaps in my devotion to it as a project.  And I actually intended to finish it by the deadline and send it in, but I became disenchanted with the Sketchbook Project for a number of the usual reasons:  too big now, too expensive and inflexible, too focused on self-promotion and profit.  I understand:  you have some success and publicity, you want to cash in.  But it’s grown beyond my resources and desires.  So I’m opting out, and this sketchbook will remain with me.

patterns 15s

Like the color of my skin
Or the day that I grow old
My life is made of patterns
That can scarcely be controlled

The idea behind The Sketchbook Project remains valid.  I had fun with this, and I like the results.  It gives me lots of ideas to investigate further.  And I hope to continue doing sketchbook explorations , but in my own time, and in my own way.

patterns comp

For more about Jean-Michel Basquiat:  http://basquiat.com/

For more about Paul Jenkins:  http://www.pauljenkins.net/

To see the rest of my Sketchbook Projects:  https://www.sketchbookproject.com/library/4615

jenkins 4s

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

7 responses to “Patterns (Unfinished Project #2 )”

  1. createarteveryday says :

    Wow! You do an excellent job of making artwork that is a beautiful accompaniment to your inspirational instruments. It’s like everything is part of an orchestra. Very cool. And I like it that you’re going your own way, too. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. inari says :

    Lovely sketchbook, and you are stitching those colours… so creative. Thanks for visiting my corner of the world. Looking forward to follow your creative journey 🙂

    Like

  3. Art and Soul Space says :

    love your playful combination of stitching and music

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Irati Mtz says :

    Your patterns sound relaxing to my eyes! Great work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

