Blue Part 2

blue done s

On the one hand, if you’ve seen the original, you would recognize this as a rendering of the iconic “Blue” album cover.  On the other hand, it doesn’t really resemble Joni Mitchell.  But this exercise was all about process anyway.

Nicola at Artistic Adventures has been documenting the evolution of her images when she paints.  This one in particular caught my eye:  https://neschofield.wordpress.com/2015/06/15/turquoise-window/
She said she photographed each step while waiting for that layer of paint to dry.  I don’t usually paint in such a logical way, but I wanted to try it, and the “Blue” cover seemed a good choice, as I would only be using one color so I could really concentrate on the layers.

blue comp

Often I don’t do a sketch at all before I start to paint.  Sometimes I use a very light color to just paint in a general feel for the image, and sometimes I just plunge in.  But this time I did a sketch, photographed it, and then photographed steps along the way.  Even though it’s definitely layered, my work lacks Nicola’s planning and precision.  But you can still see the image forming, which is kind of cool.

Positive:  It’s good to let layers dry before painting on top of them.
Negative:  I found it distracting to stop and start.  But maybe part of that was taking photos.

Not a bad result, although I wish it looked more like the real thing.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

13 responses to “Blue Part 2”

  1. createarteveryday says :

    I like seeing the steps, too. You’ve conveyed lots of emotion with this, which is great (and I think, your trademark, particularly with people). A nice trademark for an artist to have, by the way! I know I’ve seen this album but can’t really place it in my head just now. I feel you’ve captured a pretty good likeness, actually. Just the thought of painting a portrait in something fluid makes me cringe. I can’t imagine ever even trying it. This is good, though. Are you planning to try more of them?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tequihby says :

    This is great and I love seeing the process.

    I understand what you mean about the stopping and starting being a bit distracting. I have that problem too. I’m also absolutely terrible at actually waiting for the paint to dry which is why so many of my paintings turn out so splotchy.

    I think I need to learn some patience. Maybe I should give this a try sometime. I’ve done process sketches for some of my larger projects but I never really thought about doing it for a regular daily watercolour before.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s a good exercise, even if you don’t actually incorporate it into your normal practice. Some of it might rub off (like waiting a bit for the color to dry…) Well that’s what I’m hoping.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nicola says :

      That’s why I started taking in progress photos – to kill a bit of time while waiting for paint to dry – I’m very impatient and often ruined paintings by rushing back in when it was still wet. I don’t stop purposefully just to take photos as it breaks the flow – that’s why there’s often big leaps between some photos.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. memadtwo says :

    I know that cover well and I think you have caught it wonderfully. I know what you mean about the painting. My studio room is in chaos also due to major overhaul stuff, no excuse but I’m going to post something later.

    Like

  4. Nicola says :

    Really nice. I never have a plan though – I wish I did! I quite like having the in progress photos to remind me that there’s always several points along the way that it looks dreadful – you have to believe in your abilities and keep going at these points!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

