Of Whelks and Water

whelk 1 2015 comp

I think I’ve got it straight now:  whelks live in temperate waters and are carnivores and scavengers.  A conch is a herbivore that lives in the tropics.  So my shells from North Carolina are whelks.  (http://ncseagrant.ncsu.edu/blog/2015/03/02/whats-in-a-name-conch-vs-whelk/)

whelks 2015s

I collected quite a few this year.  Usually they are a rare find.

whelk 2 2015 s

Being July 1, when thoughts turn to the beach (if they haven’t already), I thought I’d reprise my beach trip in May a bit.

ocean pencil drawing s

When I sat on the beach and tried to draw the ocean, I had a lot of trouble.  So I took some of my photos and printed them out and worked from those to draw and paint the waves.  The colored pencil drawing looks good, but it was so tedious to do I didn’t really finish.

painted ocean s

The watercolor was more fun, but doesn’t look like the ocean at all.

shell group 2015 1s

And just for good measure, more shells.

Happy July!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

8 responses to “Of Whelks and Water”

  1. kirkistan says :

    I love the detail on the shells and the ocean images. Great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo says :

    Kerfe, that ocean drawing is amazing. I’m telling ya, it’s genius. I love it so much.

    Like

  3. Rebecca says :

    Ah, lovely! Great minds think alike…

    Like

  4. Laura @ Createarteveryday says :

    Amazing shells, all. The ocean ones are great, with their own personalities. The CP is wonderful. The WC is too, you can tell it’s the ocean. It just has a different speaking voice. Oh, can’t wait to go. 💜💜💜💜 thanks for your beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

