Chickens Are Birds Too

collage chicken s

I’ve been working on this chicken for awhile now.  The collage above was my third version.

chickens pencil craypas

First and fourth I drew, first in oil pastels and then in colored pencil.  I think the end result is pretty similar.

watercolor chicken 1s

My second attempt was a watercolor; the legs were placed wrong, so I painted over them in black and put in new legs, still not entirely correct, but better.  But I was not happy with it at all.  So I decided to really give it a makeover.

watercolor chicken 2s

I ran the whole thing under water in the bathroom sink.  I was hoping to paint on a wet surface, but because the bathroom is so far from my work room, and I had to run back and wipe up the drips on the floor and clean out the paint from the sink first, it was partially dried by the time I sat down with my brushes.  In the end I watered down the paint colors considerably to get a the effect I was looking for.

I wouldn’t want to make a bird identification based on the painting, but I kind of like it.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

27 responses to “Chickens Are Birds Too”

  1. Merry Hearts Medicine says :

    It looks like you worked very hard on all that. They look great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo says :

    Yes, I like all of them too!

    Like

  3. inari says :

    I think they are great, each one has its own personality and its fun to see the different mediums you worked in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan says :

    These are terrific! That is a stately bird.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow, I’m amazed by all of them! I think they look great! Love what you did with the watercolor, and even though I liked it pre-rinse, it’s so much more dynamic after. They’re all beautiful!! Love the richness of the colors in them all, too! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tequihby says :

    These are all beautiful. I think my favourites are the coloured pencil and the watercolour (both pre and post rinse) but the others are great too. I kind of like the way the head looks tilted in the oil pastel one. Chickens are such interesting birds.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Fantastic! I’m always glad you share the process too.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carol King says :

    All your chickens are fab. I like the collage and the last, loose watercolor.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Melba Christie at Poemattic says :

    I love this. I have rooster, chicken and hens motifs on many of my kitchen stuff. This would be a good poster with the title: Hey look at me chickens are birds too. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lesliepaints says :

    Awesome collage! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. segmation says :

    Looks like you did a nice job with your collage challenge! Will there be more birds for you in the future? http://segmation.com/blog/

    Liked by 1 person

  12. mycreativeresolution2014 says :

    Really good! The collage one is really cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

