Faces 6

francine 1s

I haven’t done any of these since February!  My reference was a photo of Francine du Plessix Gray that was in New York Magazine.  On the first one, I did a tonal water color and used colored pencil on top.

francine 2sb

For the second, I used watercolor pencils on a wet piece of paper.  It dried quickly, though–why does it dry quickly when I need it wet, and stay wet when I want it to dry?–so I dipped the pencils in water, as well as using them dry in some areas.  I like the effect, and this one does resemble the actual photo more.

But something about the first rendering appeals to me…it seems more true to the subject’s spirit maybe.

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

10 responses to “Faces 6”

  1. kirkistan says :

    I like these. Both are really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Your sketches are always more than sketches! You manage to make art out of them. I like them both. Probably prefer the bottom one, and isn’t it cool to do the same subject in different ways and compare and contrast. Did you enjoy doing one of them more?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    I also like them both. There’s something cool about the pencil lines peeking out from the bottom of the one on top.

    Like

  4. tequihby says :

    These are both great. The top one does have a really interesting vibe though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      It does. How can two drawings from the same painting look so different? It’s a mystery.

      Liked by 1 person

      • tequihby says :

        I often find that with mine too when I do multiple drafts. I don’t think I could draw something consistently in the same way if my life depended on it.

        Of course usually I’m not really trying. I’m usually trying to do something different so that could be why. Using different mediums like you did here often makes things look quite different too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

