The Power of Masks

japanese masks 2

I made my second visit to “Becoming Another:  The Power of Masks” at the Rubin Museum yesterday.  I sketched some more of the Japanese masks  (I previously posted one that I sketched from my first visit in March:  https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2015/03/15/otafuku/).  This time I sketched with an ink marker, rather than pencil.  Different effect.

japanese masks 1

For contrast, here are some more of the sketches from my first visit.

usofuki rahula s

This is not a large exhibit, but there are still many masks I’d like to go back and draw.  It’s there until next February, so there’s time.

http://rubinmuseum.org/events/exhibitions/becoming-another

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

4 responses to “The Power of Masks”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Way to go; these look great! I like your expressive lines. I’d like to do more of this kind of thing. Thanks for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tequihby says :

    These are really fantastic. Quite scary looking too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

