Unfinished Project #3 (and more masks)

#3 swatch mask close up s

One of my resolutions in January was to finish some of the projects I had started but never completed.  Most of these involve fiber, as a lot of the stitching I do is very time-consuming.  I finished #2 a few weeks ago, although I did do a #1 1/2  in the middle of #2.  So that’s 3 projects in 7 months.

#3 swatch mask s

This one has been looking at me for a long time.  I picked out the knit swatch I wanted to use and pinned it on the canvas shortly after I finished the first swatch mask I did (https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2014/09/26/saturnalia/)

museum masks 4s

The masks I drew and posted yesterday form a continuous line in my museum-going life.  Even though for years I did very little drawing, I always took a sketchbook and drew masks in museums.

museum masks 2s

I drew some initial ideas for the stitching on this mask, but I’ve been reconsidering as I look through all my references.

museum masks 3s

I will probably end up taking elements from a few places, and also adding what seems to fit the face as I go along.  That’s what I did last time anyway.  Can I finish by the end of the summer?

museum masks 1s

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

4 responses to “Unfinished Project #3 (and more masks)”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Good for you, finishing projects! This is something I’ve struggled with all my life. It’s one reason I shy away from large paintings. I think I’d lose interest long before finishing. Boy, you live in the perfect place for what jazzes you; so much inspiration everywhere! I bet you have very few idle moments!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo says :

    For some reason I see an elephant. Maybe it’s the ears. Anyway, it’ll be good to see what you come up with.

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Beaded Skull Mask | method two madness - October 28, 2015

Leave a Reply

