Missing 13

hermon s

Hermon

I was in midtown the other day near the Morgan Museum, so I stopped by to look at the portrait drawing exhibit.  I didn’t write any information down when I was there, but a lot of the drawings that I think were Renaissance-era were done on tinted paper (blue was evidently popular for a number of years) with black, white, and red.  I decided to use the same technique for this portrait, although I used reddish brown rather than red.

Looking back, my previous “Missing” portrait also uses this technique (combined with a few other colors), but when I was drawing Hermon I was much more aware of the role each color played, especially the white as a highlighter.

Hermon has so much warmth in his smile; I hope he is well and no longer among the missing.

You can see the rest of the series here:  https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/category/missing/

And the Morgan Museum, though its exhibit spaces are small, is always worth a visit.  They also currently have an “Alice in Wonderland” room that is fun, photography, and some oil landscape studies on paper to see.
http://www.themorgan.org/exhibitions/current

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

13 responses to “Missing 13”

  1. tequihby says :

    This is a lovely portrait. I especially like the white highlights. I think they work very well and it seems like an interesting technique. I agree that he has a very warm smile and I hope he is safe and sound now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kirkistan says :

    That is terrific.The creases and shadow and proportions are really well done. The smile is infectious. Really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Yeah, he exudes warmth and kindness, Kerfe, I think you’ve really captured his spirit here. Beautifully done. Portraits are calling me again; they are full of challenge and I love your expressive style when doing anything, but particularly people. Happy Friday to you! 💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    Agree with all the comments: a really good portrait. Your chops are getting better and better.

    Like

  5. Carol King says :

    What a warming and heartening portrait.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

