Endangered Species: The Sweater

4000 tigers 1s

I’ve spoken before about the show I saw at The Drawing Center with textiles as its theme (http://www.drawingcenter.org/en/drawingcenter/5/exhibitions/9/upcoming/806/thread-lines/).  It was interesting to me that a few of the artists used sweaters and sweater graphs in their work, but I was put off by the fact that they used sweaters that other people had designed, once again exploiting the creative work of those mostly anonymous and underpaid textile artists.

4000 tigers close up 3s

It occurred to me that I could exploit myself.  I’ve been re-purposing my unsold swatches from my own design work for pillows and dolls–why not make an artistic statement derived from their original purpose?  Over the 20+ years that I designed and made these miniature sweater fronts, I must have produced thousands of designs.  I have hundreds that were returned from my reps (because they didn’t sell) to choose from.

4000 tigers close up 2s

Animal skin as a motif is perennially popular; I decided to combine some of those patterned sweater designs with my concern about endangered species.   I embroidered in black and white duplicate stitch a statement–“there are less than 4000 wild tigers left in the world”–and a ghostly tiger face on top of the knit sweater front.

4000 tigers slant s

What do you think?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

10 responses to “Endangered Species: The Sweater”

  1. eadouglas says :

    Wow, what a wonderful piece. I would certainly stop for a long look if this was hanging in a gallery. I dig it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Holy hell, love the tiger face and the idea behind what you’re doing. It’s hard to tell since I can’t see it in person, but I wonder if the text piece may be getting lost in the sweater pattern. It’s probably more legible than I think? Love the idea. And the tiger is not getting lost at all; s/he looks great.

    Liked by 2 people

    • memadtwo says :

      You’re right about the legibility…I may try stitching on top to see if I can make it better without standing out too much. My first attempt was too harsh, but this may be too far in the other direction.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda says :

    You did a great job! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tedgiffin says :

    I have not thought about the use of textiles in a very long time! Good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    I would totally wear this. I think you should make a bunch of these, they are great.

    Like

  6. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Ok, here I am in your textiles category and have lots to read! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

