St. Patrick and Atlas

 

cathedral sketches comp

Perhaps sketching St. Patrick’s Cathedral is not ideal for someone who does not regularly draw architecture.

tower comp

I first tried the towers, but there is so much similar detail that I would get confused after looking up and start drawing the wrong part for the place I was in my drawing…so I moved on to the rose windows.  Better, but still.  I ended up with the frustrated scribble at the top, which actually shows a much better feel for the building I think.

rose window comp

I drew a tour guide (many many tourists with or without guides but all seemingly with cameras), and a tree.

tree and guide

But time to go to what I do have a lot of experience with…sculpture.

cathedral statue s

I was there in my first meeting with the NYC Urban Sketchers.  Their chosen subject for August 1 was St. Patrick’s Cathedral.  We were positioned in front of a sculpture of the god Atlas.  So I turned my attention to him.

atlas comp

I’d like to go back and do him again from multiple views.  There’s a lot going on here.  That thing between his legs is supposed to be water, I think, although my drawings make it look quite erotic.

atlas-1a

Here’s a photo of a front of the entire sculpture.  I was not going to stand in the middle of the crowded sidewalk and draw that view, but the sides and back have plenty to offer.

I was so absorbed in Atlas, that all of a sudden the Cathedral was pealing the noon bell.  I looked around, and all the other sketchers had disappeared, so I didn’t have a chance to really talk much to any of them…

I used both marker and pencil for these sketches.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

10 responses to “St. Patrick and Atlas”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Woo, lots of challenging subjects! I love always the immediacy in your work. All of the lines and expressive marks to me capture the essence of what you’re experiencing there. Personally, I think it’s very cool that you were so captivated that you lost all track of time until you heard the bell! Awesome, and I love these sketches! Not sure if I even prefer the sculpture sketches to the others. I feel they all capture the essence.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicola says :

    I love the “frustrated scribble”! Definitely my favourite of all these 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kirkistan says :

    I like all of these. I particularly like the statue inset.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    These are all good in their own ways. Kudos on the Urban Sketchers, you have great energy.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Caroline really pushed me to go when I was hesitating. She was right! It’s too easy not to make the extra effort, sometimes we all need a pep talk to get moving.

      Like

  5. jeandrawingaday says :

    I like these drawings! You did lots, I do like the towers and spires – you’ve got a real sense of them and their form without lots of finicky detail! I also like where you focus on specific parts eg a window. What a shame that you didn’t get to share with the group – you can post on the Facebook page though?

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      I’m not on Facebook. They do have a blog where people seem to post, although it’s not a WordPress Blog. I’m not very tech-savvy, so not sure how you would post on someone else’s blog anyway.
      Thanks for the encouragement–I don’t feel I get buildings at all yet. You do it so well with a great economy of line which is what I would like to strive for. I need practice, definitely.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

