Bauhaus Grid

bauhaus grid front s

This is another fiber piece using the Pre-Columbian wrapped embroidery technique I discovered last year (https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/inspiration-pre-columbian-textiles/).  While the first used a grid-based design, it was more directly influenced by the Peruvian textiles I had been looking at, although the interest of Anni Albers in Peruvian weaving techniques was what led me to look more closely at how they were constructed in the first place.

bauhaus grid close up front 2s

So back to the Bauhaus.  This design more directly reflects the use of color and grids in Bauhaus design.   Of course Anni Albers and all the Bauhaus weavers, and Josef Albers and in particular the stained glass he did while at the Bauhaus, connect to this embroidery.  But the bigger influence in this case is the work of Paul Klee, especially Klee’s experiments with color value in grids.

klee comp

Once again, I also like the back of my embroidery, and would love to have the space to suspend it from the ceiling so both sides would be visible at the same time.  I like the texture that appears on the back of the wrapping, and may try something where I leave the embroidery floss ends on the front and use the “back” as the unembellished side.

bauhaus grid back s

Local weaver Matthew Yanchuk (https://www.etsy.com/shop/Jackpie) wove the base for me, as he did for the first embroidery, this time doing a black and white check to give even more dimension to the color changes.  He is currently making me two more black and white weavings so I can try out some more ideas using this interesting embroidery technique.

bauhaus grid close up back s

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

9 responses to “Bauhaus Grid”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Ooh more grids! Love this! My first thought was “Wow!” I’m really glad you included the close up image because your needlework is amazing. I can’t believe you’re doing it by hand; the stitches are so fine and lovely. Gorgeous! Was this percolating during the 100-day project?

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Oh yeah, I’ve been working on this since I finished the first one and asked Matthew to weave me something new. It was “almost done” for a long time while I fooled around with the colors, taking out and replacing a few. So this was really pre-project. But the 100 day grids gave me ideas for doing more in this technique.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kirkistan says :

    I like this. Your commentary helps me understand more of what you are doing here. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    I love the ombre quality you achieve with this work. And the back is just as beautiful as the front. Great, great work, Kerfe.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks…sometimes I work on things for so long, it surprises me when they are actually done! This one dragged on a bit I think, but Caroline helped me look at the colors and tweak a few so I could finish it.

      Like

  4. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I like seeing that close up weave – very interesting !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

