More Joan Mitchell

mitchell painting abstract jm 5s

Joan Mitchell is an artist that continually inspires me.  I love her use of color and space.  So I’m continuing to do collage abstractions based on her work.

mitchell painting s

The particular painting I used for these collages is pictured above.

mitchell painting grid s

Because I was in the midst of gridlock at the time, I also wanted to try to render the painting in a grid.  I was pleased with the result, but then it also occurred to me that Photoshop can be used to make images into grids as well.  I thought I’d compare.

mitchell painting pixels

Of course, other than the time it took me to figure out the size of the pixilation, Photoshop produced their work in seconds.  Mine took a couple weeks….Let’s be generous and say mine has more subtlety.  And at least I got the experience of studying the way Mitchell created her work.  I’m sure the Gods of Photoshop paid no attention.

You can see my other collages based on Joan Mitchell’s work here:  Abstract Collage 2

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

16 responses to “More Joan Mitchell”

  1. kirkistan says :

    i really like seeing your process here. It explains how the abstract process works: reducing and reducing, but boosting the central elements to make them move vivid. Good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Your collage experiments are inspiring. I especially like the grid and your place of color.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. memadtwo says :

    Of course your grid is better than the photoshopped one…although that is pretty cool too.

    Like

  4. tedgiffin says :

    Thank you for telling me about Joan Mitchell. Love her stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    Love your collage abstracts, they have a nice feel of energy. The grid version is very nice, got me to thinking what that would look like with fabric.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    This is wonderful, wonderful. Had to say it twice! This may surpass your grid project for me. Really magnificent work. I had to look closely at the image to make sure it was made by you and not something taken from a museum! 💛💛💛💛💛

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. From Joni to Joan | method two madness - December 9, 2015

Leave a Reply

