Things in my Office 2 (from Mexico)

rag doll 1s

In addition to the dolls I’ve made, I have quite a few other dolls I’ve acquired over the years.  The rag doll pictured above has a tag still attached that says it was “handmade cooperative” in Mexico.  I found it in a thrift shop.  I was not that pleased after I painted in my ink drawing, but a few days later it looks better to me.  I’ve always done watercolor first, then ink on top, and it felt kind of like doing a coloring book but with paint.

rag doll 2s

So I did another ink drawing, this time one of the “don’t lift the pen” types, managing also to fit the whole doll on the page this time.  I should try one with watercolor first, then ink, to compare.  Add it to the list…

ilda 2s

The second doll I drew is also from Mexico, a gift from a friend many years ago.  It was once brightly colored, but the paint has faded to a pale tint.  Although these paper mache dolls are sometimes referred to as “prostitute dolls” in the United States, the common Mexican name for them is “muñecas de carton” which translates as “doll made of rock paper”.   They may be modeled after female circus performers, and were traditionally given as gifts to girls around Easter.  Now they are more often made for sale to tourists, usually painted with a name on the torso:  mine is called Ilda.  She’s sitting on one of my daughters’ old wooden doll chairs.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

14 responses to “Things in my Office 2 (from Mexico)”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I really like these! As always, your drawings have so much character. Really love the one on top. So interesting that you paint first, then ink on top. Unless I misunderstood that? Brain not too swift these days. I love this; just leaps off the page. 💛

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    These are wonderful sketches. I especially like the face of the first doll. Thanks for the interesting information as well. Have a creative day. 🌺

    Liked by 2 people

  3. kirkistan says :

    I like the detail in the second drawing. Great perspective.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sand Salt Moon says :

    It’s good to hear your process – how you draw or watercolor first, the order, etc. And your dolls are wonderful. All very cool. OK – this is Nina, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    Enjoyed the drawings, really like the feel of the “don’t lift the pen” piece and appreciate the background on the dolls. Great subject, like the way you presented it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

