Lunch with Nina

nina comp

It’s been awhile.  This time we took our table sketchbooks in hand.  I did 6 sketches of Nina–I think she did more of me–and these are the two I like best.  We were having a serious conversation about many things plus concentrating on our sketching, so my one comment is that in every drawing I did Nina looks so stern!  But in fact we laughed a lot too.

restaurant s

table comp

Indian food.  Always a delight.

gifts comp

evenico comp

We always come bearing gifts, and Nina brought me two Moleskine sketchbooks which will be put to good use.  I’ve heard so much about them, and now I can see for myself.  We also stopped in a very appealing little shop on Broadway, Eve & Nico.  They sell wonderful things made by a women’s craft cooperative in Africa.  Nina purchased a colorful mandala coaster woven from recycled telephone wire and then slipped it into my backpack.  Thanks Nina!

ninas hands 1s

The hands of a friend are always beautiful.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

12 responses to “Lunch with Nina”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    What fun to sketch with a friend! I should really do that more often. Love the hands sketch.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    What a beautiful way to remember your day, thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I love this entire post. *hi, Nina* beautiful all the way around. Thanks for sharing it with us. Both of you! 💛💜💛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan says :

    What a blast! Nina and Kerfe, sketching and talking. I like the sketches.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    That one on the right really looks like me. Thanks for not drawing in the double chin. N.

    Like

  6. memadtwo says :

    Like I said: resting bitch face. But smiling when I think of you, friend!

    Like

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    What a lovely outing and such a beautiful friendship. Thank you for sharing a little peek into your world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

