Curta calculator

While talking to Kerfe the other day I mentioned my father’s Curta calculator. It is labelled by my Dad with one of those labels that came in a strip and you would press the letters like embossing. It says “Calculator Circa 1950” with his name underneath. I have no idea how this works and neither does my scientifically inclined husband. It is cool and worth a few bucks on eBay. I’d never sell it, though. 

Here is my dear old dad: techie, magician, raconteur and a lot of other great stuff. Miss him a lot.  

 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

10 responses to “Curta calculator”

  1. ♥ love powered ♥ says :

    looks like a fun to know bloke ^^

    Like

  2. artandmoondreams says :

    Very cool and lovingly sweet.

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    Amazingly wonderful all around.

    Like

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Awesome. I’ve never seen one like it! Your dad looks like a very cool, happy guy. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Such a special tribute — the world needs more such Renaissance Men (and women!) And I’ve just got all misty eyed thinking about embossing tape; at one time, everything I owned was labeled with a Dymo!

    Like

  6. Melba Christie at Poemattic says :

    Great picture of your father. You are so lucky to have some of the things your dad treasured. Very interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

