Self Portrait after Chantal Joffe

self portrait 1 comp

When I finished my 100 days of grids, I had a lot of ideas of what to do for the next “100” project.  Seeing Chantal Joffe’s portraits at The Jewish Museum a few weeks ago inspired me to go with the “100 days of self portraits inspired by other artist’s portraits” idea.  Well I’m not going to do 100 days in a row this time, maybe once a week.  Joffe’s portrait on the right is of Betty Friedan.  And that’s me, inspired by her painting, on the left.

self portrait 1a

I can’t really paint in front of my bathroom mirror, so I did a sketch in pencil, and then painted it on my drawing table.  I want to keep the “me-ness” of each but explore different approaches to portraiture.

joffe comp

I’m not finished with Ms. Joffe.  She’s done many self portraits too, and I’m going to do some more based on those.

http://thejewishmuseum.org/

 

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

12 responses to “Self Portrait after Chantal Joffe”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow, what a project!! And I think your portrait after hers is wonderful! I’d have thought they were done by the same artist! Where will this one take you, me-wonders……. Now we’re talking! Ooh a grid portrait. Hmm…… 💛

    Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    100 days of self-portraits would be a real challenge. I like what you’ve done, Kerfe. I like the shadows in particular. Your image, on the left, is really good. I’m afraid to do something like that so close and detailed. Good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicola says :

    This is a very exciting project! I look forward to seeing them all. You’re off to a great start with this one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    Terrific self-portrait! I could not do one every day for 100 days, but I’m sure it would be a great exercise (especially on days when you don’t have a life model aside from yourself to work with). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful self-portrait, love the strong brush strokes. Great project idea, looking forward to seeing more.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. DrawingConnections says :

    I really like the expressive blocks of colour and brushstrokes of these portraits. Is it oil or…? Piece-by-piece, a wonderful collection will form. Nice project.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

