Me and My Shadow: Self-Portrait #2 (after Chantal Joffe)

sp #2 comp

This is done with pencil on watercolor paper.  I was originally going to paint over it after I drew in front of the bathroom mirror, but I like the texture the paper gives the pencil so much, I decided to leave it as is.  Although the pencil makes it less exactly “in the style of” it certainly captures for me the feeling that I got from Joffe’s painting.

I will do one where I paint over the pencil in the future though.

And one more inspired by a Joffe portrait to come.

You can see self-portrait #1 here.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

11 responses to “Me and My Shadow: Self-Portrait #2 (after Chantal Joffe)”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    I like the texture showing through, too! And it does have the same feel as the original. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kirkistan says :

    Really interesting, Kerfe. Nice job.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    How did you do that without glasses? I really like the contrast. Good drawing chops, kiddo.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Well I lose a lot of the details. But for Joffe I think it’s appropriate. I am going to do some with glasses; Matisse did his self-portraits with his glasses on. We’ll see. There’s a lot of material in the art world to work with.

      Like

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    This is awesome. I think I like the shadow one even better than the other one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    Really like your interpretation. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

