Tom Otterness

real world cat comp

On Wednesday, I joined the NYC weekday urban sketchers in lower Manhattan for a few hours drawing the “Real World” sculptures of Tom Otterness in the playground in Rockefeller Park.  It’s an amiable group, and I hope to join them again.

real world bear comp

Otterness has his own unique vision of the world, and his animals definitely have personality.  They are also joined, surrounded and covered by little creatures, a challenge to draw so that they “read” as separate beings.

real world ape comp

I spent the most time working in pencil on the apes.  Each sculpture has so much going on;  I only managed to capture a small piece of it.

real world hand and foot s

The children played all around us, and included Otterness in their fun.  Some of the pieces incorporate water…a necessity for enjoying the playground on a very hot day.

nj skyline s

It was mostly shaded, though, with a view of the river and a breeze, so not too unbearable for the sketchers either.  I also did a quick drawing of the New Jersey skyline…can you see the sailboat?  Lots of building going on over there.

You can read more about Tom Otterness here.

Enjoy the last gasp of summer…back on Tuesday for Draw-a-Bird Day.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

24 responses to “Tom Otterness”

  1. memadtwo says :

    Wonderful sketches!

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks! It was fun…we should do it sometime. Right at the end of Chambers Street by Stuy, but I had never walked the extra block.
      Speaking of which, are you going to post that photo on 9/11? I can’t find my copy, so you should do it.
      Every year when it rolls around, it clutches at me again.
      Enjoy your weekend!!

      Like

  2. Lola says :

    These are great! I believe you were inspired. I’ll definitely check out Tom Otterness. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I love these sketches so much!! Sounds like a wonderful time and those sculptures are so unique. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Nice job, K! I’m working on getting more expressiveness in my sketches, like you! Glad you has a good time too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    Yes! I see the sailboat. 🙂 If I were in NYC, I’d totally join you. Sounds like so much fun! I should go and sketch sculptures around town. Your sketches are terrific!

    Like

  6. kirkistan says :

    Really cool stuff, Kerfe.

    Like

  7. randomyriad says :

    I see Otterness’ work on the Western Washington U. campus, His mighty little people lifting boulders. I didn’t know who had done them until I went to his sight.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    Thank you for sharing your great sketches, they look like it was fun, and for introducing Tom Otterness. His public artwork looks amazing. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Carol King says :

    Great sketches. You were right where I worked. Well, I was a few blocks up Warren St. There are a number of Tom Otterness sculptures on the 8th Ave. A/C subway station. But sketching outside is much nicer than sketching in the subway station I’m sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks! Both my daughters went to high school right up the street but I had never walked over to the river there before. I’ve seen a few of those subway sculptures too. There’s so much to see in his work, which makes it both fun and a challenge to draw.

      Like

Leave a Reply

