Little Figure from Roussilon

They say writers should write what they know. As I find my way back to art I’m painting what I see. Today it is a little sculpture purchased in Roussilon, France. It is made of clay colored by the ochre cliffs that dominate the landscape there and I clearly remember being charmed by it and I still am. 

And here is the little object: 

 

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

12 responses to “Little Figure from Roussilon”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    I can see why you’re enamored with it. It’s darling!

    Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    I like that very much.I like the colors you’ve chosen.

    Like

  3. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Nina, I love your artwork and its kind of tribal/primitive feel. I always wondered about that write what you know thing and it’s means write your truth. You can write about imaginary things with the truth you know.

    Like

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    This is so adorable, and it’s so nice to see you regularly posting your artwork, Nina.

    Like

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    Both the painting and the sculpture are lovely. I like the modern meets rustic vibe.

    Like

  6. memadtwo says :

    I love that you photographed this with the paints in the background. The painting has a wonderful directness about it. And the stories with the paintings are great, keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

