There she sits, aloft at perch…

baby bluebird s

Bluebirds always make me think of that Buffalo Springfield song.  Now it will be in my head all day, but that’s OK, it’s a good song.

This wonderful image is from Backyard Bird Nerd; Kathy kindly gave me permission to use one of her photos as reference.  And if you like birds, or just the natural world, but haven’t visited her blog, you should.  Amazing photos.

I pulled out the gouache again for this painting, and I’m going to try to keep working with it more regularly.

And you can read all the lyrics to “Bluebird” here.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

35 responses to “There she sits, aloft at perch…”

  1. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Sweet goauche bird. I miss my gouache. And I feel like hearing that song – maybe it’s on YouTube? So, I am thinking this is Nina…correct? Or Kerfe? Help!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I’m wondering who this is too but with the song reference, my guess is Kerfe! I love this cute little bluebird! They are one of my favorites and the colors here are so wonderful! So glad you joined us! Thank youuuuuu! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathydoremus says :

    Nicely done! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan says :

    Excellent, Kerfe. Really well done. I love the bits of blue.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    Hi Kerfe – what a beauty! I like how your brush strokes show the texture of the feathers. Birds are so much fun to paint.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    Darling bluebird! I saw one outside our window yesterday that looks just like this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. memadtwo says :

    Lovely composition and colors. I think you should start painting more frequently–you are very good at it! N.

    Like

  8. randomyriad says :

    Suite Judy Blue Eyes Part I: Judy Collins was his muse. Steven Stills wrote some very good songs and sang them well.

    Like

  9. outsideauthority says :

    She looks as though she’s taking a surreptitious look at all the bloggers visiting

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is gorgeous Kerfe! Love it! And digging the gouache. It’s really well done. And great minds think alike…I did a bluebird for today as well! Hehe 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jill Kuhn says :

    Looks like a Bluebird of happiness! A beauty, Kerfe! Kathy’s photos are the best! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. artandmoondreams says :

    Lovely. Your interpretation of those lovely photos are nicely handled with the gouache.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Draw A Bird Day recap, September style! | Create art everyday - September 17, 2015

Leave a Reply

