Self Portrait #3 (after Chantal Joffe)

sp #3 comp

This Joffe self portrait appealed to me because she was standing on the beach.  And then the shirt…I had a very similar shirt I wore until I wore it out.

I decided to do the background and shirt in collage, and luckily I had some patterns in green that worked.  For the actual portrait, I took pastel paper in a flesh-like tone and drew in colored pencil in front of the bathroom mirror, then I cut and pasted it on top of the background.  I’m sure I’ve seen this done by others before, but I think it’s the first time I’ve tried combining drawing and collage.  I like it.  Kind of reminds me of all those paper dolls I used to make and play with as a child.

That’s it for Joffe, on to a new artist.

And you can see the other self portraits in this series here.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

23 responses to “Self Portrait #3 (after Chantal Joffe)”

  1. kirkistan says :

    That’s cool, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Kerfe, this is outstanding! xo Love how it turned out. Fun to see what inspired you and then where you went with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks; that’s the idea here, to see where I can go with someone else’s style, method, idea. I’ve done it a lot with collage, but those are pretty abstract. Plenty of artists to choose from for inspiration!

      Like

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Very creative Kerfe, I like the mix of collage and hand drawing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    I think I like yours better than Joffe’s! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I like the mix too! Ooh, actual mixed media with the mixing and the media. Oh, the insomnia is kicking in. Nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    Honestly I think it’s a masterpiece. Want to see it in person. Do more like this.

    Like

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Fabulous!. Love the combination of drawing and collage I hope to see more. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

