9/11

9-11 postcard s

I found this postcard when I was cleaning.  Every year, very visceral memories.

I also found a sketchbook I had started using the NY Times “Portraits of Grief” as reference.  I remember I had a folder of newspaper clippings, although I haven’t come across it yet, so it may have disappeared during one of my moves.  Interestingly, the small faces include haikus based on the text that accompanied each photo.  I didn’t remember doing that, but it was on my mind for the news all those years ago too.

antonio

swim to my open
heart, the rock to hold a fire
swim  water  flame  sky

The “Portraits of Grief” can be found online here.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

12 responses to “9/11”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I can’t even imagine what 9/11 must have been like as an NYC resident. We were shattered enough elsewhere. Love that haiku. Bursting with emotion. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and healing art Kerfe. 9/11 is a tragedy we will always grief for.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa Robeson says :

    Sending hugs your way… my dear friend’s husband was a first responder there that day. I can’t begin to imagine how horrific that must have been.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    Yes, very visceral. It will never go away. See you soon, friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

