Remembering

My husband called me that awful morning. He had been making rounds at the hospital and a group of people on an upper floor saw a plane hit the World Trade Center. They thought it was a small plane. At home the radio was static. Soon enough we all found out what had happened. 

People in my town were very gentle and kind to one another in the following days. There was shock and grief as mine is a commuter town and we lost a number of fine citizens. 

One good thing came out of 9/11: I reconnected with Kerfe. Neither of us are telephone callers but one of us called the other. We have been in touch ever since.  

 
I have a collection of ephemera from 9/11. I think Kerfe must have sent me the first as her daughter attended Stuyvesant, a top NY high school right near the towers. 

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

12 responses to “Remembering”

  1. Sharon Mann says :

    Thanks for sharing and remembering Nina, a day we will never forget.

    Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    Thank you for posting this.

    Like

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow. What a horrible day, particularly for anyone in or near NYC. Powerful post, and I’m really glad that it brought the two of you back together, Nina.

    Like

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    Oh, Nina, I can’t even imagine being as close to ground zero as Kerfe’s daughter was (although the husband of one of my closest friends is a first resp0nder firefighter in NYC who was there that day so I actually can imagine being even closer to the carnage). So very sad. Thank you for sharing your remembrance of it.

    Like

  5. Melba Christie at Poemattic says :

    Touching tribute. Friendships are forever.

    Like

  6. memadtwo says :

    Nina, I’m so glad you still have that photo from Stuy to post. I’m sure Jeanne has hers packed away, and I don’t know where my scan of it is.
    I wish we could recapture that time of solidarity, without the tragedy coming first. Remember, and wake up, world!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    Nina, I didnt realize you and Kerfe are fellow New Yorkers. It’s hard to believe so much time has past since that day. But the evidence is in front of me – I was pregnant with my son and now he is 13. None of us will ever forget exactly where we were when the planes hit.

    Like

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

