Fragment of a Dream

A particularly weird and vivid dream last night. My father owned a loft in a very old crumbling building in Paterson (in the dream). Walking through I saw this pile of drawers with the top one filled with rocks. Some had my father’s face painted on them. My father walked up holding a little mandolin guitar with the strings loose. I told him I could restring it but he wanted to keep it that way. Any dream interpreters out there? This one was a doozy. 

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

11 responses to “Fragment of a Dream”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    I’m one of those people who mine dreams for story ideas but don’t think they mean anything otherwise, but I love that you sketched out your dream! A piece of advice I’d read for writers said to write down your dreams or whatever is on your mind when you first wake up. This is a great way to do that.

    Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    What a dream! I like the sketch.

    Like

  3. davisbrotherlylove says :

    The significance of a dream is what it means to you.

    Like

  4. Melba Christie at Poemattic says :

    I agree with davisbrotherlylove’s comment. My dreams about my father or mother are not very often but I am always very happy to see them.

    Your father is probably letting you know that he’s happy you are expressing yourself through art. Maybe he wants you to paint a portrait of him. The mandolin playing accentuates the sentiment. Interesting dream nevertheless.

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    I think it’s a positive visit. Art! Music! He’s watching and listening.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. artandmoondreams says :

    A great way to record a fragment of a dream and remind you of the visit.

    Like

  7. Dave Whatt says :

    A drawer full of rocks is both difficult to close, and difficult to open again. Hm…

    Like

Leave a Reply

