Self Portrait #4 (after Matisse)

sp #4 comp s

I’ve always liked the Matisse self portrait on the left.  In fact, my first attempt to do a self portrait “in the style of” is the very green one below (done about a year ago) which was based loosely on the same painting.  My dissatisfaction with it was partly what inspired this project.

matisse sp try 2s

Here’s my original drawing for the top painting.  Again, I drew in front of the mirror, but then painted in gouache at my drawing table.

sp#4 drawing s

Matisse has done a lot of portraits in many different styles, so we’ll see how far I go with him.  I’ve got at least 2 more in mind, but maybe more.  He’s one of my favorite artists.

You can see the first three self portraits in this series here.

And other work inspired by Matisse here and here and also here.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

28 responses to “Self Portrait #4 (after Matisse)”

  1. Rebecca says :

    This is a great idea for a portrait project – you’re getting very good results! Looking forward to seeing your next one… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jodi says :

    wow! what a vast improvement in skill from the previous one a year ago! Awesome and inspiring!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Teresa Robeson says :

    We can tell you’ve really worked at practicing in the meantime because like Jodi said, there is a vast improvement and this one is awesome!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Love this!! You’re so great at this…really wonderful idea and beautifully executed! 😃

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    I like this project. A good way to stretch your artistic muscles! BTW ….I went to high school with Matisse’s granddaughter. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

    • memadtwo says :

      That is so cool! Was she an artist too?
      I’ve always liked to study artists I admire and do work based on theirs. I’m not exactly sure where the impulse came from, but I guess artists have always learned by copying other artists. And it’s a learning process for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    WOOT! Wow, love this one too! I admire anyone who does a self-portrait and posts it on the internet, but this one in the style of Matisse is very well done. I do believe he’d be proud to see this one! Looking forward to more!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Interesting factoid- on old frieze paintings, they used to use green as an underpainting for human figures. ; ) I love how you do “after so-and-sos” – and I like Laura admire self-portraits. Cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nicola says :

    Wow, this is really great

    Liked by 1 person

  9. artandmoondreams says :

    Really like the way your self portrait captures not only the style, but the essence of your inspiration piece. Your painting is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. OneDrawingDaily says :

    Great work. And i think ‘ts very successfully “in the style of” his own portrait! It reminds me that i haven’t drawn a self portrait in months!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

