Chelsea Graffiti

graffiti 1s

Since davisbrotherlylove started doing his photo and painting graffiti series, I’ve been on the lookout for it.  NYC has cleaned up quite a bit, but sometimes it just pops up at me (usually when I’m on a bus or train or very crowded street so I can’t get a photo).

graffiti 2s

Yesterday I went down to Chelsea to look at some shows I’ve been wanting to see (more about that later).  This graffiti fence was in front of a parking lot between 10th Avenue and the West Side Highway.

graffiti 3 close up s

A close up reveals just how interesting the structure is.

graffiti 4 close up s

And one side had words on the curb; I should have written the whole statement down, but I didn’t think about it until later.

graffiti 5 close up s

Still, the fragments I photographed are suggestive.

graffiti 6s

The shadows of the fence on the sidewalk were beautiful too.

graffiti 7s

Then I spotted some graffiti across the street on the side of a clearly gentrified building on 10th Avenue.  Nina and I both lived in Chelsea in the 70’s (me only briefly), and it’s a different universe today.

graffiti 8s

This last very busy and beautiful example of street art on a wall and doorway was on what might have been a club on a block with many galleries, so I’m not sure if it was intentionally created for the owners.  But it doesn’t matter.  It certainly appeared organically in some fashion.

graffiti 9s

“Amber is the color of our energy”–love that.

And I’d just like to note also the beautiful recent graffiti paintings by both Nina, and Charlie at Doodlewash.

As to the art I saw in the galleries,  I’ll try to discuss specific work and artists in future posts.  But the most important observation I made is this:  75% of what is shown is mediocre, some of it embarrassingly bad in fact.  If you are reading this, yes, if you had the right connections or promotion, your art could hang proudly in these galleries too.  So take heart and keep creating!

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

26 responses to “Chelsea Graffiti”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    I never had a chance to look at the graffiti or many of the buildings in the short time I was in NYC so I am fascinated by this (and your other) photo-essays of it. Those bits of words on the ground are particularly intriguing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Mediocre and bad – wow. There’s public taste and then there’s personal taste. Many art pieces look ugh alone but displayed in the right room with the right furnishing, etc. make quite a statement (look at a House Beautiful or Better Homes and Gardens). Well, I do love your photographs and your narrative. Photo essay, yes! Can’t wait to hear more and see more, thanks Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Thanks for the graffiti walk through Chelsea. So good to see another part of the country.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan says :

    Thanks for the tour, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Thanks for showing us around! Happy Sunday night to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Love all of these!! What a wonderful collection of great photos! And thanks so much for the shout out friend! 😃❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. memadtwo says :

    Final word on this post: I love it. Your photo essays are absolutely stunning. Bravo. N.

    Like

  8. annetbell says :

    Graffiti just brightens the gray of the city. . . .

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

