Almost officially autumn, but…

guac s

Still some summer left in the kitchen.

gazpacho s

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

40 responses to “Almost officially autumn, but…”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    These are absolutely wonderful! Love them, Kerfe! Made my morning. :))))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wowser!! What amazing sketches you have here! Love these! ❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Beautifully sketched Kerfe, I can smell the freshness!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    Yum and beautiful – making guacamole?!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I can see these sketches in a cooking magazine or cookbook. Looks like you’re making some homemade spaghetti sauce in that blender. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    Love them both. The bottom one is something special, you should frame it.

    Like

  7. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Great sketches! Bursting with life and freshness :-).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    These would look great printed on tea towels!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Absolutely beautiful, K!
    j

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jill Kuhn says :

    Lovely sketches! I’ll bring over the tortilla chips for the guacamole! Looks delish, Kerfe! :-)))

    Liked by 1 person

  11. An Artsy Appetite says :

    Nice illustrations, love them all!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. OneDrawingDaily says :

    Delivious! I’ve always wanted to do this kind of drawings in pen and ink, but I tend to always complicate it. I like how the pen and the color are balanced and share a similar “importance” in the drawing. I always tend to over prioritize the drawing and then add the watercolor like a finish!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s colored pencil, not watercolor…maybe that helps with the balance? Much easier to control and layer colors for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • OneDrawingDaily says :

        I’ve never tried colored pencils.. Maybe in the future 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • OneDrawingDaily says :

        Is there a brand in particular I should go for? I only ever remember trying the kids version and don’t have the fondest memories of them 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Good question. I have lots of different kinds from when I used to buy them individually just for color when I was doing textile designs. My favorites are some a friend gave me from the Frick Museum, but when I asked the museum who made them they wouldn’t (or couldn’t) tell me. I like Derwent and Prismacolor. It’s also interesting that sometimes different brands won’t blend with each other. I’ve used Caran D’ache too. Most brands also make watercolor pencils, which you can blend with water after you draw for a watercolor effect. I haven’t tried them much though.
        If you can try out individual pencils at the store (some places here let you do that) you can see the type of texture they have and if you like it. Less expensive than buying a whole set and discovering you don’t like it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • OneDrawingDaily says :

        That’s true! Does it matter what kind of paper you use? I like to use watercolor paper for different media, but I imagine that the rough surface could make the coloration a little uneven

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        I like the texture of watercolor paper, but usually I just use heavy and slightly textured drawing paper. I don’t like smooth paper to draw on, and I think texture helps give dimension in color blending

        Liked by 1 person

      • OneDrawingDaily says :

        I think I’ll pick some up and try them on my watercolor paper 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

