There’s a Crow Flying (#4)

crow flying #4s

I feel like that black crow
Flying
In a blue sky

–Joni Mitchell

crow flying #4 close up s

It’s been almost a year since I finished the third one in this group.  You could say Time flies too…

I’ve been working on this on and off for awhile, but seeing that it’s printoctober as well as inktober and drawlloween this month, it’s appropriate that I finally completed stitching the trees.  Originally I did quite a few monoprints from one base that I kept adding colors to, all with a crow series in mind.  I think there are still a few left in my partly-started ideas bin as well.

You can see the rest of the series here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

26 responses to “There’s a Crow Flying (#4)”

  1. artandmoondreams says :

    Love the series, enamored with “There’s a Crow Flying #1” and this piece, (#4). Wonderful texture and movement, visually has a nice feel to it which I am sure is echoed physically as well. Beautiful pieces. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Love the contrast of the bird and its shadow against the crystal blue and the stitching makes me think of its flight. Beautiful work. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kirkistan says :

    Very dramatic. I like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Yes, dramatic and eye catching. At first I thought it was metal work, with piercing on metal. It certainly has a 3D look to it, which is super cool

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is so fantastic! Love it! Such a great presence and mood! Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    One of your best. Very striking and well composed, great job.

    Like

  7. Sharon Mann says :

    I’m mesmerized by your intriguing fabric collage art. Your crow series is wonderful. I’ve spent much of life time producing fabric illustrations. These days not so much, but you are inspiring me to start again, maybe something small.
    Happy Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    So this is a quilt or fabric art? Wow! It’s superb…love the mood it evokes and the fine details you put into it!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. JoAnn Chateau says :

    Exquisite, beautiful…!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. davisbrotherlylove says :

    I love these. The others too. At first, your stitched trees implied an aerial view… a twisted view of ‘as the crow flies’, on my part, I suppose.
    j

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Jack. I like this group a lot and hope to explore it more. (Add to impossibly long list). You are much better than I am at focusing on one thing and seeing it through…

      Like

Leave a Reply

