Wood Thrush

wood thrush #3s

In the back of a school notebook of writing from elementary school that somehow escaped my mother’s tendency to discard more each time we moved, I found a list of birds.  Wood Thrush was the first name on the list.

wood thrush #1s

Were these birds I had seen?  Or birds I hoped to see?  Our neighbors ran a nature camp that I attended, so maybe we were studying birds?

wood thrush #2s

It will remain a mystery.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

46 responses to “Wood Thrush”

  1. Catherine Johnson says :

    These are great! I particularly like the last one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow! I am loving these!! Aren’t thrushes adorable? So sweet. Ink and colored pencil together – not sure if I’ve ever done this, but you are inspiring me! And is the center one acrylic? Terrific work, Kerfe! So glad you’re bringing out the paints too! Anytime I need inspiration, I’m going to look back at your sketches. Beautiful lines, colors, shapes. Very expressive! So glad you joined us!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    What a great find! It’s so interesting to imagine what was going through our little heads back then. Whatever cause you to write it down, I’m sooo happy you did!! Because these are some excellently drawn thrushes!! Beautiful!😃❤️Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Beautiful bird sketches Kerfe, each one so different and inspiring. Happy bird day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kirkistan says :

    These are awesome, Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tequihby says :

    These are all so lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Such marvelous texture and color, soft and strong, you bring to these birds. How interesting the story of your list of birds … Happy 8th of October, to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jodi says :

    These are absolutely beautiful!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Teresa Robeson says :

    Wood thrushes and common loons make the most beautiful and haunting bird calls ever! We have them around here but see Swainson’s thrushes more often. Yours are just lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks! I’m not very good with bird calls. Robins, cardinals, and blue jays are about it for me. Often I’ll hear something, but I never remember it well enough later to check online for what bird it is. And then the starlings, well, they do all the other birds too!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        I’m not good at distinguishing warbler calls but I do know some of the more unusual or the very common ones. 🙂 My older son, the avid birder, an tell a lot of songs and calls apart and I have to consult with him. The Peterson Field Guides’ Birding By Ear CD sets come highly recommended by other birder if you’re interested. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Yes Cornell has an online site with bird calls…but by the time I get to it, I can never remember what I heard! My sister-in-law, also an avid birder, can often tell me if she’s around.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        You might like the Audubon bird app on your phone…I use it to help ID sounds when I’m out in the field!

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Well, I’m a person with zero apps on her phone. I’m lucky I can figure out how to take a photo with it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        LOL! Oh, okay…well, never mind. But if you do have a smart phone and you’re wanting to have something on hand all the time to help you bird, I recommend this app. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Jill Kuhn says :

    Love your art “experiments” with one type of bird – so FUN to see! And wonderful as always! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. artandmoondreams says :

    Your sketches are beautiful, love the use of different mediums. Very inspiring. Thank you for sharing these.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Beautiful birds :-). I really like the way you used color pencil in the first. Do you have a color pencil preference? I currently own a set of 12 and am always sadly missing white and grey, so I’m contemplating getting more color pencils. And I dig your brown-ish paper!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks. I haven’t exactly figured out what pencils I like best. This is a Derwint set with only 8 earthy colors that I like a lot. I have a set of 12 that a friend gave me from the Frick Museum that I also really like, but they couldn’t (or wouldn’t) tell me who the manufacturer was. But I also have lots of random pencils in many colors that I bought when I was trying to match colors while working as a designer.
      I like brown paper too…it brings out both the darks and the lights.

      Like

  13. Nicola says :

    beautiful and lovely subtle colours

    Liked by 1 person

  14. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Great work, I love the positions of the thrush, I really adore the first one I could quite happily hang it on my wall 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

