Egypt: Hands

egypt hands 8s

I was on the east side yesterday, and having a membership to the Metropolitan Museum (a yearly Christmas and birthday gift), I stopped in for the Members Preview of the new Egyptian exhibit.

egypt hands 2s

The museum was really crowded!  Lots of groups…not just children, but adult groups.

egypt hands 3s

The Egypt exhibit itself was very crowded at the start, but the crowds tapered off as I moved along.  It’s huge!  Lots of great and interesting pieces.

egypt hands 4s

I decided to focus my camera on hands.

egypt hands 6s

egypt hands 7s

The guards weren’t sure if photography was allowed, but everyone seemed to be doing it, so they said OK.

egypt hands 1s

egypt hands 5s

I did get a chance to do some sketches, too, near the end when there were less people looking, so I wasn’t blocking the view (or being blocked).

mummy mask s

a mummy mask

mourning figure s

two views of a mourning figure

repaired statue head s

a repaired statue head

crocodile god s

a crocodile god

bovine deity

and a bovine diety…lost the horns somewhere, though

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

9 responses to “Egypt: Hands”

  1. kirkistan says :

    I like your interpretive sketches very much. This makes me want to hit a museum this weekend and sketch a bit.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Teresa Robeson says :

    What Kirk said! I wish I had had time to go to the Met when I was in NYC. I guess I’ll have to try and go back for that. 🙂 Loved both the photos and your sketches…especially that last one of the bovine deity!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    Thanks for the tour and the sketches. I enjoyed both, your sketches just keep getting better.

    Like

  4. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    Great sketches! I’m too shy to sketch in public. ha ha

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Museums aren’t bad for the shy (I’m quite reticent myself). People look for a minute and then move on. The guards often like to comment on your choice of subject though, especially in smaller museums.

      Like

  5. Dave Whatt says :

    I have always liked Egyptian stuff – and I love the way they do their fingers!…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

