Self Portrait #6 (after Matisse)

sp #6 comp

One of the aspects of the art of Matisse that I admire is the fact that he didn’t just do a variation on the same thing over and over.  This portrait seemed to lend itself to a collage interpretation.  I first tried to paint the lines in with ink, but the ink wouldn’t adhere to most of the magazine photos I used for the collage.  So there’s a bit of an ink smear on the face.  But a marker worked just fine.

You can see the whole series so far here.

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

15 responses to “Self Portrait #6 (after Matisse)”

  1. kirkistan says :

    Wow! These are really amazing. What is fascinating to me is that my eye does not see green and blue–or at least my eye does not stay there. It sees light and shadow almost immediately. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Teresa Robeson says :

    If there is an ink smear, I don’t see it..it’s part of the painting and looks right! Brava!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    I think I like yours better than Henri’s.

    Like

  4. Sand Salt Moon says :

    What a great series/project. You’ve really amassed a super collection. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lesliepaints says :

    I absolutely love these self portraits you are doing. They come out so interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

