Snub-Nosed Monkey

snub nosed monkey s

I’ve been neglecting the endangered species category for awhile, but when I squeezed out way too much brown paint the other day, I did a number of simple painted line drawings with the excess.  For one of them, I used a reference for snub-nosed monkeys that I had in my file of animals.  I don’t know if it’s just this photo, but the blue face is very exaggerated compared to others I’ve seen.  The strong blue works well with the brown lines though.

Snub-nosed monkeys are found in southern China and northern Vietnam and Myanmar.  They live in large groups in the same mountain forests that giant pandas prefer.  This habitat is disappearing, due to human settlement, but especially due to forest destruction as a result of logging.  The monkeys are also hunted for their fur and body parts, which are used in Chinese medicine.  It seems no creature is immune from the voracious appetite of Chinese medicine.

For their part, China has established reserves for both monkeys and pandas in an attempt to save both.  However, the species of snub-nosed monkeys that live in Vietnam and Myanmar have no such protection and are critically endangered.

You can read more about snub-nosed monkeys here, and see the rest of the endangered species posts here.

 

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

22 responses to “Snub-Nosed Monkey”

  1. artandmoondreams says :

    Love your painting. This pulls at the heartstrings, both the words and the image.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    Great job on these! I’m glad you squirted out that extra brown!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca says :

    These are brilliant! Really expressive.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Thank you for posting the narrative and your beautiful and poignant art. The look on their faces says help me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Scribble Fiend says :

    Oh, I really like this! Very expressive, as Rebecca said!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    Gah….don’t get me started on Chinese medicine and other superstitions that are endangering wildlife. 😦 Your painting of the monkeys is wonderful; it’s hard to draw monkeys without making them oddly comical, but you put so much dignity in them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Teresa. I got into an argument with my sister-in-law about her Chinese medicine; she claims they would never use animal parts in what they prescribe…
      I love drawing animals. All of them are so endlessly interesting to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        My sister and I reprimanded my parents for eating shark fin soup, too. It’s our world they’re depleting. Ugh… Some Chinese medicine use only herbs but anyone who takes Chinese meds need to be more careful about the source and not contribute to endangering animals.

        I can tell you love to draw animals!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. tequihby says :

    These are sooo cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    These are great!! I love this painting… the colors work extremely well. Nice work!! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I’ve learned something new today – thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. memadtwo says :

    The blue really pops and all in all, a great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

