Acorns Unabated

A little girl in the neighborhood said “Once you start collecting something you can’t stop”. This seems to be the case with me and acorns. 

Today while walking the dogs up at Montclair State University I found a whole trove of another type of acorns. The ones around my house must be the pin oaks with the smaller acorns. These today were bigger, a better color, and they must have been older and mightier oaks. I have a plank with bark attached and am going to do a mandala dedicated to Kerfe. I laid a few specimens out to show how some are tiny and some huge. The miracles of nature never cease to amaze me.  

 
Going to start the mandala today. I think it will be the pinnacle of my acorn craft but possibly not the last. 

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

11 responses to “Acorns Unabated”

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is awesome! I too agree with that little girl… it’s easy to compulsively collect! Love what you found and can’t wait to see the pinnacle of your acorn craft!! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I have a small collection too – can’t wait to se your mandala.

    Like

  3. Teresa Robeson says :

    It is hard to stop collecting once you start, but now that I’m trying to declutter, I am getting better about not getting started with collecting to begin with. πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to see your mandala dedicated to Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. davisbrotherlylove says :

    My wife is also obsessed with acorns. In fact, her maiden name is Italian for acorn.
    j

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    Can’t wait! I saw many acorns this weekend and thought of you.

    Like

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Looking forward to the Mandela, acorns have such variety.

    Like

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Smart little girl, wonderful collection of acorns! Looking forward to more acorn magic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

